Friday, July 15, 2011
Non-Christians and Christians? Do these things make me a hypocrite? :(?
A friend and I were called hypocrites the other day by a member of my youth group when we were talking about attending a Jason Mraz concert for my Birthday. I know Mraz is a support of gay rights which is against what I think, but that doesn't make him any less a good artist. I'm not some up tight person who has all these rules and regulations. I like going to the movies, I love listening to Pink and Maroon 5. I do listen to Christian artists as well and I do my best to live according to the Bible. I don't want my actions to provoke a negative feeling about Jesus or what He teaches, I want to do my best. I'm very careful about what I say and do, I want to live in a right way to be a good example! However, I don't understand why some Christians are so strict about certain things. Like some people in my church said that no one should go see Priest because it was bad (Priest has to deal with vampires!) I think that's stupid. The same with Thor! I saw Thor and I loved the movie, yet this lady says that I'm wrong for seeing it because it shows I'm supporting other gods. What in the world?! Since when was seeing a movie a sin? My mom stopped going to church because of those people, and I'll soon be leaving as well to attend my fianc�e's church. As a Christian there are certain things I know not to do, but seeing movies? Listening to some secular artist even when most of my music is Christian? Actions speak louder than words. I'm not trying to boast, but a friend who is not a Christian told me that I'm one of the best friend's shes ever had even though she is a New Age type(makes me happy inside!). I'm not trying to come across as holier than thou, I'm trying to set a good example like Jesus did, I highly doubt that Jesus would preach against going to see movies. He would be more concerned about the content of the movie, not movies in general (Good Luck Chuck is something I would not see). I actually tried explaining this concept to someone and they totally shot me down, saying I was wrong, saying I need to rethink what it means to be a Christian. I don't understand...am I really being two-faced? Or am I just letting these people get to me?
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment